About The Award: The Indian Merchants’ Chamber (IMC) Inclusive Innovation Award, 2013 will recognize product or service innovations which are inclusive, capable of commercial exploitation, sustainable and scalable. The aim and objective of the Award is to recognize the contribution of such inclusive innovators, provide them mentoring support and to link them with entrepreneurs and fund providers to take their innovations to the market.

What is Inclusive Innovation?

One of early thought leaders on inclusive innovation globally, Dr. RA Mashelkar, explains inclusive innovation as “any innovation that leads to affordable access of quality goods and services creating livelihood opportunities for the excluded population, primarily at the base of the pyramid, and on a long term sustainable basis with a significant outreach”. Simply put, inclusive means “more from less for more and more people”. Inclusive Innovation means making available high quality products or services with affordable access for large sections of the society. Firmly embedded here is the concept of `affordable excellence’.

The Award
Rs 20 (Rupees Twenty Lakhs) to the Winner from Category A in a form determined by Jury and mentoring support Certificates of Recognition to short-listed Nominees (up to 4) from Category A and mentoring support Certificates of Recognition to Winners from Categories B and C

Categories: There are three categories for 2013 Cycle of the Awards:

Category A
• Individuals
• Private sector enterprises ( other than those in Category B or C)
• Academic/Research Institutions

Category B
• Public listed entities
• Government/Government Departments
• Public Sector Enterprises

Category C
• Non – Government Organisations/ Not for Profit Organizations ( NGO/NPOs)


All persons of Indian origin from within or outside of India are eligible to participate.

All innovations are eligible including:
• Technology Innovation
• Business Process Innovation
• Workflow Innovation
• Organizational Innovation
• Supporting environment Innovation

The product or service capable of commercial exploitation and scalability will be considered for the Awards. The product or service could be under development, developed or could be in the market. An applicant, who has been declared a Winner in IMC Inclusive Innovation Award, 2012 Cycle will not be eligible to reapply for 2013 Awards Cycle for the same innovation. However, the short-listed nominees who were invited for interactive session with the Jury (other than the Winner) may reapply for the same or other innovations for the 2013 Cycle of the Awards.

Rules and Regulations of the Award
Definitions: Applicant Any organization or individual that sends in an application to participate in the Awards

Evaluation Parameters

Evaluation of the entry will be done on the following criteria:

• Innovation of the product / service
• Impact on the society at large
• Sustainability of the product / service
• Affordability of the product / service
• Scalability of the business

A product or a service which is atthe stage where it can be commercialized and/or scaled up will be given preference.


The Awards will follow the following timelines:

Process Date

Deadline for receiving applications 15 July, 2013
Selection of up to 5 Nominees for Final Interactive 31 August, 2013

Session with the Jury

Determination of Awardees September/ October 2013

Awards Presentation 14 November, 2013

Efforts will be made to follow the above timelines. However, in circumstances beyond the control of Awards Management, these timelines may be shifted.

For more information:   Contact the Indian Merchants’ Chamber marked to: Ms Selby Nambisan, selbyATimcnet.org, (M) +91 9820426838 | Tel: 91-22-22046633 | Fax: 91-22-22048508 / 22838281  IMC Bldg, IMC Marg, Churchgate, Mumbai – 400 020.